Available 24 Hours

What makes a DWI a felony?

A felony DWI carries a sentence of at least one year and a day. You can be charged with a felony DWI in Minnesota under two separate circumstances:

  1. The current offense is your fourth DWI (or other impaired driving offenses) within a rolling 10 year period of three prior offenses, or
  2. You have previously been convicted of a felony DWI (at any time in your life).

The maximum sentence for a felony DWI is seven years in prison and a $14,000 fine. Anyone charged with a felony DWI offense absolutely needs to the assistance of an experienced Minnesota DWI attorney.

David Balmer

David Balmer's Profile Image
David Balmer established the Balmer Law Office with one overriding goal: provide aggressive, high-caliber criminal and DWI defense for good people facing serious charges throughout the state of Minnesota. Read More

Practice Areas

Free Case Evaluation

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.