Available 24 Hours

Minnesota Third Degree Controlled Substance Offenses

Third degree possession or sale of a controlled substance is a another serious felony controlled substance offense under Minnesota law. The crime is punishable by up to 20 years in prison and a $250,000 fine.  Though a prison sentence is not likely for first-time offenders, there are other serious consequences that result from a felony third degree drug conviction.

Free, Confidential Case Evaluation by a Minneapolis Drug Charge Defense Attorney

If you have been arrested, charged, or even just questioned about a third degree controlled substance offense, you need to speak with an experienced Minnesota drug crime defense lawyer. The Balmer Law Office is available via its 24-hour hotline: 612-326-4175. Minneapolis attorney David Balmer is pleased to provide free, confidential case evaluations. Contact the Balmer Law Office today to schedule your case evaluation.

Possession of a Controlled Substance in the Third Degree (Minn. Stat. § 152.023, subdivision 2)

Third degree controlled substance possession includes any of the following:

  • Possession of a mixture(s) with a total weight of three grams or more containing: cocaine, heroin, meth
  • possession of a mixture(s) with a total weight of 10 grams or more containing a narcotic that is not cocaine, heroin, or meth
  • possession of a mixture(s) containing a narcotic drug packaged in 50 or more dosage units
  • possession of any amount of a schedule I or II narcotic drug, or five or more dosage units of LSD, MDA (Sally), MDMA (ecstasy) in a school, park, public housing or drug treatment center
  • possession of a mixture(s) with a total weight of 10 kilograms of marijuana
  • possession of a mixture(s) containing meth in a school, park, public housing or drug treatment center

Minnesota law defines the term “possession” broadly: 

“if it was in a place under the defendant’s exclusive control to which other people did not normally have access, or if found in a place to which others had access, defendant knowingly exercised dominion and control over it.”

Sale of a Controlled Substance in the Third Degree (Minn. Stat. § 152.023, subdivision 1)

Third degree sale of a controlled substance includes any of the following:

  • sale of a mixture(s) containing a narcotic drug
  • sale of a mixture containing phencyclidine (PCP) packaged in dosage units of 10 or more
  • sale of a mixture(s) containing a schedule I, II, or III controlled substance , except a schedule I or II narcotic drug, to a person under the age of 18
  • conspiring or employing a person under 18 to sell a controlled substance listed in schedule I, II, or III, except a schedule I or II narcotic drug
  • sale of a mixture(s) with a total weight of five kilograms or more containing marijuana

Defenses to Controlled Substance Charges

There are numerous possible defenses and mitigating strategies to Minnesota’s harsh drug laws. Learn more about drug charge defenses.

Consequences of a Minnesota Controlled Substance / Drug Conviction

If you have been charged with a controlled substance offense, there’s more on the line than just jail or prison. Minnesota laws create a whole host of other severe consequences for a controlled substance conviction.

Contact an Experienced Minnesota Drug Defense Attorney

If you have been charged, arrested, or even just questioned about a Minnesota controlled substance offense, you need to speak with an experienced Minnesota drug crime defense attorney. The state is preparing its case against you — it’s time to start preparing your defense. The Balmer Law Office is available via its 24-hour hotline: 612-326-4175.

David Balmer

David Balmer's Profile Image
David Balmer established the Balmer Law Office with one overriding goal: provide aggressive, high-caliber criminal and DWI defense for good people facing serious charges throughout the state of Minnesota. Read More

Practice Areas

Free Case Evaluation

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.