Available 24 Hours

What if I am under 21? Are there different penalties for underage DWI?

Those under the legal drinking age of 21 are still subject to Minnesota DWI laws. In addition, a “not-a-drop” drinking and driving law applies to those under 21. This law punishes underage drivers who had any amount of alcohol in their system while driving a motor vehicle. A conviction for a not-a-drop underage drinking and driving offense results in a 30 day license suspension for a first-time offense.

Extra administrative penalties apply for 16 and 17 year old drivers convicted of DWI. This is known as Vanessa’s law. A 16 or 17 year-old convicted of DWI will not be eligible for a driver's license until they turn 18. They will be required to repeat driver’s education and to drive with an instructor’s permit for three months after having their license reinstated.

David Balmer

David Balmer's Profile Image
David Balmer established the Balmer Law Office with one overriding goal: provide aggressive, high-caliber criminal and DWI defense for good people facing serious charges throughout the state of Minnesota. Read More

Practice Areas

Free Case Evaluation

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.