Hit and Run /
Leaving the Scene of an Accident
Have You Been Arrested, Charged, or Questioned Regarding Leaving the Scene of an Accident (Hit and Run)?
The Balmer Law Office Can Help.
THE BASICS OF LEAVING THE SCENE OF AN ACCIDENT
Minnesota law does not criminalize basic driver negligence that results in a motor vehicle accident. However, once an accident occurs—involving either property damage or personal injury—certain obligations attach to the drivers of all vehicles involved in the accident. Failure to comply with these obligations can result in criminal charges.
Felony and Gross Misdemeanor Offenses
Regardless of fault, if you leave the scene of an accident where a party is injured you may be charged with a gross misdemeanor or felony—depending upon the severity of the injury. If a party dies as a result of the accident, you may be subject to a maximum sentence of up to three years in prison and a $5,000 fine.
When the accident results in only property damage and the driver fails to stop and provide information to the other party, the driver (or the owner) of the vehicle may be charged with a misdemeanor
CONSEQUENCES OF A CONVICTION FOR LEAVING THE SCENE OF AN ACCIDENT
A conviction for leaving the scene of an accident involving personal injury results in the revocation of driving privileges. The period of revocation depends on your driving record.
Right to possess a firearm
A felony-level conviction results in a permanent revocation of your right to possess a firearm.
In Minnesota, a felony conviction for leaving the scene of an accident results in the loss of certain civil rights. Convicted felons may not vote or serve on a jury.
A conviction for leaving the scene of an accident may result in the loss of a professional license. Additionally, a conviction will obviously make it more difficult to obtain employment.
If you or a loved one has been arrested, charged, or questioned regarding leaving the scene of an accident contact the Balmer Law Office for a free, confidential case evaluation. The Balmer Law Office is available via its 24-hour hotline: 612-326-4175.